Skip to content
All comparisons

trepil vs Otter

Otter is the established one, and it does two things trepil doesn't: it transcribes live while people talk, and its agent can attend a meeting for you. It also runs on more devices today. What trepil does is stay out of the call entirely, record without a monthly cap, and hand you the decisions and who does what the moment you press Stop.

Otter facts from otter.ai, checked 29 October 2026. If something here is out of date, write to hello@trepil.com and we will fix it.

At a glancetrepilOtter
Price for the full product$14 a month, or $120 a year$16.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed annually
A bot in the meetingNeverThe agent joins, unless you use the desktop app
Minutes on the paid planNo monthly cap, up to 4 hours a meetingPro: 1,200 a month, 90 per conversation
Free planNone, a 14 day trial300 minutes a month

Where Otter is ahead

  • A live transcript you can read while the call is running.
  • An agent that can sit in a meeting you are not at.
  • Windows, Android and a Chrome extension today, and a free plan.
  • Salesforce and HubSpot, team vocabulary and an MCP server.

Where trepil is ahead

  • Nothing joins the call. There is no bot to invite, admit or explain.
  • No monthly minute cap, and up to 4 hours in one meeting.
  • Every note ends with who does what, each to-do with an owner, ready to tick off.
  • A brief before every call: who's coming and what you last discussed.

Feature by feature.

The meetingtrepilOtter
Records without a botAlwaysDesktop app; the agent joins otherwise
Live transcript during the call-
Speaker names
Minutes on the paid planNo monthly capPro: 1,200 a month
Longest single meeting4 hoursPro: 90 minutes
After the meetingtrepilOtter
Action items with owners you can tick offNot stated
Chat across your meetingsAsk trepilOtter AI Chat, capped on Pro
Turn an uploaded recording into notes10 imports a month on Pro
CRM integrationOn the waySalesforce, HubSpot
The resttrepilOtter
PlatformsMac, web; Windows and iPhone soonWeb, Mac, Windows, iOS, Android
Free plan-300 minutes a month
Price$14 a month, or $120 a year$16.99 a month, or $8.33 billed annually

The side that is ahead on a row is set in bold. "Not stated" means their site doesn't say.

Pick Otter if

you want to read the transcript while people talk, need something in meetings you can't attend, want a free plan, or live in Salesforce.

Pick trepil if

you want nothing in the participant list, no minute cap, and a checklist with owners when the call ends.

A man at his desk at the end of the day, eyes closed and smiling, a band of prism light beside him

Your next meeting could end in done.

Download trepil for Mac, or open it in your browser. Your next call is written up the moment it ends.

  • Mac
  • Windows, coming soon
  • iPhone, coming soon